Abandoned ship's Captain Awarded "Seafarer of The Year"

By Curious
On this year awards of Lloyd's List, was prized the Captain of ore/oil ship "A Whale," with Seafarer of The Year Award in London.

The master of the "A Whale" carrier Mr. Khan Jubair Niaz became popular 6 months ago, after he and his crew were abandoned on the vessel in Suez by the company owner - TMT, due to its bankruptcy. Captain Niaz and all 20 crew members of the "A Whale" carrier were abandoned on the vessel without basic supplies like fresh water, food, communications or fuel, not to mention pay.

The Fundraising Sailor Society charity director, Mr. Jan Webber accepted the "Seafarer of The Year" Award on behalf of the captain of the abandoned "A Whale" carrier, Mr. Jubair Niaz. Jan Webber had connected to the crew of "A Whale" after the "accident" and helped them letting the world know about their terrible situation.

“I was honored to address the assembled guests at last night’s Lloyds List awards on behalf of Capt Niaz,” Webber said in an emailed statement to gCaptain. “There is no doubt that he has succeeded in raising the profile of all seafarers in abandoned situations such as the A Whale.”
It was revealed after conducted investigation on the case that Taiwan banks were putting pressure on the company owner of the abandoned ship, TMT. U.S. court later in June ruled banks to allow cash to TMT so they can arrange any delayed money for fueling and crewing of the abandoned ship "A Whale."

At the Lloyd's List Awards, were also prized Lambros Varnavides of Royal Bank of Scotland that picked up the Lifetime Achievement Award and Maersk Line as a "Company of The Year."

Here is the fulle list of the Lloyd's List Awards winners:

Port Operator Award Portonave
Ship Operator Award Pacific Basin Shipping
Technological Innovation Award Shell
Business Innovation Award Marsh
Corporate Social Responsibility Award The Shipping Corporation of India
Training Award CMA CGM
Amver Assisted Rescue at Sea Award Rescue of MSC Flaminia crew
Environment Award Evergreen
Safety Award Keppel Shipyard
Special Recognition Port of London Authority
Maritime Lawyer of the Year Capt. Faz Peermohamed - Ince & Co
Deal of the Year Norton Rose Fulbright
Company of the Year Maersk Line
Seafarer of the Year Captain Khan Jubair Niaz
Newsmaker of the Year The P3 Alliance
Lifetime Achievement Award Lambros Varnavides
Table source: Lloyd's List