2015 International Seafarers Welfare Awards Launched

By Curious

The 2015 edition of the International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards is being launched today with the opening of the nominations.

The awards recognise excellence in the provision of welfare services by shipping companies, ports, individuals and welfare organisations – on vessel and ashore.

The Executive Director of ISWAN, Roger Harris, commented:

“Seafarers make a massive contribution to all of our lives. Without them global trade would grind to a halt. They deserve to have excellent welfare services and facilities wherever they are in the world. These awards recognise the considerable efforts that organisations and individuals make to improve the lives of seafarers.”

All seafarers can nominate for the award on the official site of the ISWAN awards in the following categories:

  • Seafarers’ Centre of the Year
  • Shipping Company of the Year
  • Port of the Year
  • The Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year

The deadline for the nominations is February 2, 2015.

The awards will be presented by Mr Koji Sekimizu, Secretary General of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) on June 9, 2015 in London.

2015 International Seafarers Welfare Awards

Source: seafarerswelfareawards.org