SEA\LNG Tuesday (Jan15) announced the appointment of Paul Taylor representing Société Générale and Capt M. Segar representing MPA (The Maritime and Port Authority) of Singapore as Directors of SEA\LNG Ltd.

Societe Generale and MPA Singapore join SEA\LNG board

Following elections last December, Tahir Faruqui and Xavier Pfeuty also join the SEA\LNG Board as new directors representing Shell and Total Marine Fuels respectively.

Welcoming them to the Board, re-appointed Chairman Peter Keller said: “2018 was an exciting year for the LNG industry and our coalition. As our membership grew to 36 we welcomed Société Générale as our first financial institution and additional ports, including MPA Singapore. I am delighted to welcome Paul and Capt Segar as representatives from these organisations, as well as Xavier and Tahir to the SEA\LNG Board for 2019.

“I would like to express my sincerest gratitude to our outgoing founding board members Yvonne van der Laan (Port of Rotterdam), Michael Chia (Keppel Offshore & Marine) and Lauran Wetemans (Shell) for their valuable participation as founding Board members of SEA\LNG. We have benefited significantly from their leadership, dedication and guidance, and wish them all the best for the future. I would also like to appreciate the ongoing commitment of our other board members, all of whom possess a broad range of highly relevant skills and experience and a singular desire to drive forward our vision of a competitive global LNG value chain for cleaner maritime shipping towards 2020 and beyond.”

Throughout 2019, SEA\LNG will continue to unite key industry players from major LNG suppliers, downstream companies, shipping companies, infrastructure providers, and shipyards, to OEMs (original equipment manufacturers), classification societies, port authorities, shipbrokers, and financial institutions, to address the commercial barriers to transform the use of LNG as a marine fuel.

The 2019 SEA\LNG Board Members are:

  • Peter Keller – Chairman, (representing Tote)
  • Stefan Eefting (Man PrimeServ Ausburg)
  • Tahir Faruqui (Shell)
  • Timo Koponen (Wärtsilä)
  • Masamichi Morooka (YKIP)
  • Xavier Pfeuty (Total Marine Fuels)
  • Hiroyasu Sakaguchi (Mitsubishi Corp)
  • Torsten Schramm (DNV GL)
  • Capt M Segar (MPA Singapore)
  • Svein Steimler (NYK Group)
  • Tom Strang (Carnival Corp)
  • Paul Taylor (Société Générale)

Since SEA\LNG was established in 2016, the Board of Directors has remained responsible for the strategic development and oversight of the organisation’s vision, mission, objectives, and activities directed towards the accelerated use of liquefied natural gas (LNG) as a marine fuel. The Board continues to play a critical role in representing the membership in key decision making, as well as promoting SEA\LNG initiatives.

Source: SEA\LNG